Weekly Photo Challenge: Dance

The theme of this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is DANCE.

The first thing I thought of was “visions of sugar blooms danced in their heads.”

Then “I could have danced all night.”

Then “Dancing on the ceiling.”

All of which led me to this picture of a tree peony in all its spring glory. The remembrance of this peony in my last garden continues to dance in my memory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/dance/

About johnvic8

John Viccellio retired after 24 years in the U. S. Navy and began to dig into gardening when he could finally land in one place. He completed the Master Gardener course in 1992 and has since designed and constructed two of his own gardens. He wrote a monthly garden column for ten years and was a regular contributor to Carolina Gardener magazine. John published his first book, Guess What's in My Garden!, in 2014. He lives in a retirement community in Matthews, NC.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Dance

  1. Laurin Lindsey says:

    They are so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my favorite memories of growing up was smelling the peonies that lined the driveway from my open bedroom window while was I was drifting off to sleep.

    Like

  3. Laura says:

    Beautiful peonies. One of my favorite flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: WPC: Dance (Facing the Force) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. How exactly is a tree peony different? is it actually a woody plant?

    Like

    • johnvic8 says:

      Yes, it is a different plant from the traditional peony my grandmother grew. Tree peonies grow on woody stems, are NOT cut down each winter, and I have seen them in England that were six feet plus. They are truly beautiful. I don’t have any in my current garden, but had four in Chapel Hill. I am now excited about Itoh peonies, a cross between tree and the old fashioned ones. They are beautiful. I will surely show some photos of mine when they bloom towards the end of April.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Barbara Speir says:

    When I was very young, before WW11, my Mother had a beautiful garden with lots of sun and she grew peonies, roses, lilacs, iris and it was, in my memory,
    what heaven will look like. Your peonies are absolutely gorgeous and I imagine you can hardly wait until they bloom this year!

    Like

  7. When I was growing up, we had peonies. I’m not sure of the variety, but they were beautiful. I remember that whenever we took some inside, there were always ants on them. 🙂 Your are beautiful and I can see why you’d miss them.

    janet

    Like

  8. schlenkerkelly says:

    So luscious! I have never seen the tree variety before this! 🙂 Just beautiful – I wonder if we could manage to grow them in arid Alberta, Canada? Love your photo – they just do embody a Dance don’t they? Lovely performers in your garden there.

    Like

Replies welcome...really!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.